Clitherall Township Annual Meeting March 8, 2022 Battle Lake City Hall

The Annual Meeting of Clitherall Township was held Tuesday, March 8, 2022 following the closing of the polls. The meeting was called to order by Deputy Clerk, Debra Biederman at 8:05 PM.

Biederman led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Biederman called for nominations from the floor for the moderator of the meeting. Gene Smith nominated Dale Cameron, 2nd by Clinton Bengtson. MC by voice vote, Biederman then called for the vote. Dale Cameron was elected moderator by voice vote. Cameron took over as moderator.

Motion to approve the agenda by Gene Smith. Second by Jeff Stabnow. MC by voice vote.

Biederman read the minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting. Motion by Gene Smith to approve the minutes. Second by Kevin Anderson. MC by voice vote.

Treasurer Nelson presented the 2021 financial information included on the summary report. Motion by Gene Smith to approve the Financial Report, Second by Craig Bengtson. MC by voice vote.

The Road Report was presented. Report included the tentative 3 year graveling plan. The Battle Lake Motor Patrol Report and The Battle Lake Fire Association Report were presented as handouts.

Treasurer Nelson presented 2023 Financial Plan.

Motion by Craig Bengtson to set the gopher bounty at \$4.50, Second by Gene Smith. MC by voice vote.

Motion by Gene Smith to set the starting time for the state election at 7:00 AM, Second by Jim Carlson. MC by voice vote. The polling times for the state election will be from 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Service funding requests from 6 sources. Motion made by Jeff Stabnow to recommend \$250 each to Battle Lake Summer Rec., LACC, Battle Lake Meals on Wheels, Prospect House and Ottertail Historical Society and \$200 to the Battle Lake Food Shelf, second by Gene Smith. MC by voice vote. It was noted that the Meals on Wheels drivers do not driver further than 2 miles from Battle Lake.

Motion by Gene Smith to set the levy at \$325,000. Second by Kevin Anderson. MC by voice vote.

General Discussion: The YIELD sign is missing from 385th Avenue and South Clitherall Lake Road; It was clarified that the gravel map is for years 2022, 2023 and 2024 planned graveling; a resident asked about \$2,000 budgeted for the Veteran's Park; the township will reimburse residents up to \$50 to replace mailboxes damaged during snow removal providing the resident adheres to the Township Mailbox Replacement Policy; Clitherall Township Residents are now in Legislative District 9B because of redistricting; KC Lawn provided all lawn mowing services at the Veterans Park for calendar year 2021.

Motion by Gene Smith to adopt a fence ordinance at a Special Township Meeting on June 8, 2022 at 7:05 pm at Battle Lake City Hall. Seconded. MC by voice vote.

Tom Rasmussen made a motion to draft an ordinance regarding residents placing snow on the township road or right-of-way and enforcement of payment for removal. Second by Jeff Stabnow. MC by voice vote.

Election Judge, Mary Nelson, announced the election results. Supervisor: Craig Bengtson 28. Clerk: Becky Cox 4; Jayden Witt 2; Kurt Maethner 1; Chris Bengtson 1. Official results will be announced after the Board of Canvass review.

Motion by Gene Smith to set the date of the 2023 Annual Meeting for March 14, 2023 at 8:05 PM in the Battle Lake City Hall, Second by Kevin Anderson. MC by voice vote.

Motion by Gene Smith to adjourn, Second by Kevin Anderson. MC by voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 9:16 PM.

Dale Cameron, Moderator

Debra Biederman, Deputy Clerk