Clitherall Township Annual Meeting March 14, 2023

The Annual Meeting of Clitherall Township was called to order following the closing of the polls by Clerk Becky Cox at 8:05 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Cox called for nominations from the floor for the moderator of the meeting. Motion by Kevin Anderson to nominate Dale Cameron, second by Craig Bengston. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed. Cameron was elected moderator and conducted the remainder of the meeting.

Motion by Don Davenport, second by Sharon Vipond, to add the following items to the agenda: status of South Clitherall Lake Trail; and replacement of blacktop on Country Estates Road. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Betty Davenport, second by Gary Wallace, to add the following item to the agenda: Discussion of COVID funds. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion to approve the agenda as amended by Tom Rasmussen; second by Pat Allmann. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Gene Smith to approve the minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting; second by Pat Allmann. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Gene Smith to approve the minutes of the Special Town Meeting held on June 8, 2022; second by Kevin Anderson. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Treasurer Nelson presented the 2022 Audit Report. Motion by Gene Smith to approve the report, second by Jeff Stabnow. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

The following reports were presented as handouts: 2022 Road Report, including the tentative 3-year graveling plan; the 2022 Battle Lake Motor Patrol Report; the 2022 Battle Lake Fire & Rescue Association Report; and the proposed 2024 Financial Plan.

Motion by Craig Bengston to raise the gopher bounty to \$5.00, second by Clinton Bengston. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Tom Rasmussen to set the starting time for any state election held in 2023 at 7:00 am, second by Pat Allmann. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Service funding requests were presented from 6 organizations. Motion made by Gene Smith to recommend donations of \$250 each to Otter Tail County Historical Society, Prospect House, Battle Lake Public School Summer Rec Programs, and Battle Lake Meals on Wheels; and a donation of \$200 to Battle Lake Food Shelf. Second by Pamela Cameron. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed. No donation was approved for Lakes Area Community Center as it is unclear whether the entity will remain in existence.

Discussion regarding the proposed levy for the year 2024. Motion by Jeff Stabnow to set the levy at \$380,000; second by Brady Braun. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

KC Lawn Service was acknowledged and thanked for doing all of the lawn mowing at the Veteran's Park last year on a volunteer basis. We appreciate your support!

On behalf of the Clitherall Township Board, Cox acknowledged outgoing Treasurer Linda Nelson for her 13 years of service. It was noted that Nelson did not miss a single meeting during her entire tenure. Thank you Linda for a job well done!

Cox gave a demonstration of the new township website.

General Discussion: South Clitherall Lake Trail is now being maintained by the township. The unpaved portion of Country Estates Road will be blacktopped this coming summer. Regarding the budget, discussion of possible areas in which to save costs, including the Motor Patrol. The annual meetings of the Battle Lake Motor Patrol and Battle Lake Fire & Rescue will be posted on our website for residents to attend.

Motion by Gene Smith to recommend to the Board that the remaining COVID funds be spent on road and bridge fund expenditures, by paper vote; second by Pat Allmann. Votes in favor: 19 ; votes opposed: 6 . Motion carried.

Cox announced the preliminary election results. Supervisor: Keith Baldwin 17; Tom Frank 29. Treasurer: Crystal Juven 1; Bruce Larson 1; Tom Frank 2; Keith Baldwin 1; Pat Allmann 1; Linda Nelson 4. Official results will be announced after the Board of Canvass review immediately following this meeting.

Motion by Gene Smith to set the date of the 2024 Annual Meeting for March 12, 2024 at 8:05 pm at Battle Lake City Hall, second by Mike Allmann. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Pat Allmann to adjourn, second by Mike Allmann. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed. The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 pm.

Dale Cameron, Moderator