Clitherall Township Annual Meeting March 14, 2024

The Annual Meeting of Clitherall Township was called to order following the closing of the polls by Clerk Becky Cox at 8:05 pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Cox called for nominations from the floor for the moderator of the meeting. Motion by Gene Smith to nominate Dale Cameron, second by Kevin Anderson. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed. Cameron was elected moderator and conducted the remainder of the meeting.

Motion to approve the agenda by Tom Rasmusson; second by Gene Smith. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Jeff Stabnow to approve the minutes of the 2023 Annual Meeting; second by Gene Smith. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Treasurer Van Santen presented the 2023 Audit Report. Motion by Linda Nelson to approve the report, second by Jeff Stabnow. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

The following reports were presented as handouts: 2023 Road Report, including the tentative 3-year graveling plan; the 2023 Battle Lake Motor Patrol Report; the 2023 Battle Lake Area Fire & Rescue Association Report; and the proposed 2025 Financial Plan.

Motion by Gene Smith to keep the gopher bounty at \$5, second by Tom Rasmusson. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Linda Nelson to set the starting time for any state election held in 2024 at 7:00 am, second by Gene Smith. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Service funding requests were presented from 5 organizations. Motion made by Linda Nelson and seconded by Sharon Vipond to recommend donations of \$300 each to Otter Tail County Historical Society, Prospect House, Battle Lake Public School Summer Rec Programs, Battle Lake Meals on Wheels and Battle Lake Food Shelf. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Discussion regarding the proposed levy for the year 2025. Motion by Jeff Stabnow to set the levy at \$380,000; second by Linda Nelson. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

General discussion:

Motion by Gene Smith to recommend to the Town Board that the remaining covid funds be designated to road and bridge fund expenditures to spend on gravel in 2024. Second by Gary Wallace. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

KC Lawn Service and Kurt Maethner was acknowledged and thanked for donating his services for the lawn mowing at the Veteran's Park last year. We appreciate your support!

Thank you to all of the individuals and businesses that contributed to the Dedication Ceremony at the Veterans Park last Memorial Day. It was a successful event with many residents, visitors and veterans in attendance. Special acknowledgment to Janet and Clinton Bengtson for the time and effort they put into this event.

The following residents were acknowledged for their service as election judges during the past election cycle: Dianne Erickson, Mary Nelson, Jean Boyum, Gwen Grewe, Don Davenport, Terry Pauls, Kathy Pauls, Lisa Frank, Arlyn Hustad, Brenda Hansen and Ken Morff. We appreciate the time and effort you have given to help our elections run smoothly.

It was announced that the Board of Supervisors has accepted the resignation of Miranda Van Santen as Treasurer. A search for a new treasurer has begun.

Cox announced the preliminary election results. Supervisor: Kevin Anderson 30; Kurt Maethner 2. Clerk: Becky Cox 31. Official results will be announced after the Board of Canvass review immediately following this meeting.

Motion by Gene Smith to set the date of the 2025 Annual Meeting for March 11, 2025 at 8:05 pm at Battle Lake City Hall, second by Kevin Anderson. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed.

Motion by Tom Rasmusson to adjourn, second by Gene Smith. Motion carried by voice vote unopposed. The meeting was adjourned at 8:53 pm.

Dale Cameron, Moderator
Recky Cox Clitherall Township Clerk